On TGS ’09 Part Deux…

Queen said it best, “and another one gone, another one gone, another one bites the dust”. Not all was quiet in the Eastern island as Sony confessed to yet another gripe on gamer’s exhausting list of shit-you-have-to-put-up-with-when-it-comes-to-Sony. I suppose it shouldn’t come as a surprise when one considers the relative size and intentions of this new brain child of the electronics giant, but only mentioning the concept of a “goodwill program” isn’t enough for PSP veterans to breathe a sigh of relief. My 2nd generation handheld ran just under the $150 bar, and I don’t honestly feel as though I have justified that money, owning only 4 games over the past 2 years. I believe, though, that the targeted audience for the new “go” is not me, or the other PSP owners, but the still skeptical Sony fans who’ve either shown the most restraint of all, or have just been borrowing from their friends. My guess would land on the latter.

When coupled with Kojima’s little chit chat about his newest entry in the Metal Gear Franchise, it would appear wise for those PSP-less owners to make the leap and learn more about the legendary Naked Snake from Metal Gear Solid 3…but will they really want to? I’m in no way trying to belittle the work or downplay the level of polish on Peace Walker (for a handheld game it appears, as Crisis Core did, nothing less than first-class work), but consider our recent history with Kojima: It has been a little more than a year since I spent 60 hours of time playing (and I use that term loosely, considering nine of those hours were simply watching cut scenes) the quoted “final” entry in the Metal Gear Solid franchise, and at the end I was still reeling from the truckload of critical story information I was buried under. Many of us have been with the series since the beginning, and we would be damned if we didn’t see it through to the end. Now that Snake has uttered his final words, I’m ready to move on from everything Metaled or Geared. As acclaimed as Peace Walker will most likely become, I know I will not be as enthralled as others, especially considering Kojima confirmed a Raiden-centered Metal Gear not 5 fucking months ago; sorry Snake, he’s got a sword.

But Kojima is not the only developer reaching back into the past for more content. Capcom has deemed it necessary to iron out the story wrinkles of their famed zombie universe, now that there’s multiple versions and even it’s own CG movie to boot. Upon first glance, I was tickled to see them return to Leon Kennedy’s perspective, but my stomach took yet a dubious turn when I saw it was a remake of old titles. Even I will need to remind myself mid-level, “oh yea, this is G-Virus stuff, not Las Plagas”. The South American setting is a not-so-subtle nod to Resident Evil 5, but we can overlook that as long as Jack Krauser doesn’t act as mind-numbingly irritating as Sheva did…serves me right for trying to play a co-op game solo.

The rest of TGS went by business as usual, save a few interesting models here and there, but on the whole it seems all parties involved came away feeling like they accomplished what they set out to do: Nintendo knocked a Grant off their Wii, Final Fantasy XIII took the spotlight like everyone knew it would, and Sony accomplished their annual goal of giving the video game community something else to be pissed about. Hey, works for me.

See you in the next level,

Gray

Leave a Reply

